And the winning Peregrine Falcon names are…

Sanford, Gorham, and Wittman! Thank you to everyone who voted – there were more than 270 votes cast!

The winning names were submitted by Nicole Kurth, and here is the story behind the newly named falcons:

“EAA’s 70th Anniversary is this year. I thought it would be fun to name the birds after famous Wisconsin pilots! Joshua Sanford from Friendship, WI was the only Native American combat pilot to serve with the Flying Tigers during WWII. Alfred Gorham from Waukesha, WI was the only Tuskegee Airman from the state. He also became a POW when his plane went down over Munich, Germany. Sylvester “Steve” Wittman from Byron, WI (graduated high school from Fond du Lac) was an avid air racer – despite limited vision in one eye. He ran the airport in Oshkosh and was instrumental in the formation of EAA in

the 1950s.”

Second place in the voting were Captain, Maltese and Millennium, followed by Wynken, Blynken and Nod. Last in the voting was Inspire, Rise and Soar.

Thank you to the University community for submitting names in response to our call for names for the newly banded Peregrine Falcon young. This season’s brood, offspring of Leopold and JoJo consisted of three male young, hatched in a nesting box atop the Cofrin Library. Learn more about the campus peregrine falcons.

You may also like...