UW-Green Bay Symphonic Band, Jazz II Ensemble to present April 11 concert

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay will present a joint concert of its Symphonic Band and Jazz II Ensemble at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 11, in the Cofrin Family Hall at the Weidner Center for the Performing Arts.

This 30th UW-Green Bay Music concert of the 2011-12 season will begin with the Symphonic Band, under the direction of Associate Prof. Kevin Collins. The group will start out with “Suite Provencale” by Jan Van der Roost, before moving into “The Seal Lullaby” (Eric Whitacre) and “The Running Set” (Ralph Vaughan Williams).

Following intermission, the Jazz II Ensemble will take the stage, under the direction of Assistant Prof. Adam Gaines. Selections will include “Things Ain’t What They Used To Be” (Mercer Ellington), “Small Fry” (Allen Vizzutti) and “The Spirit is Willing” (Sammy Nestico). The Jazz II Ensemble will conclude the concert with “Mattitude” by Matt Harris.

Tickets for the show are $7 for adults, and $5 for students and seniors. Call (920) 465-2400 or visit www.uwgb.edu/tickets. For more information, visit www.uwgb.edu/music. The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music, is located at 2420 Nicolet Drive.

UW-Green Bay Symphonic Band personnel are as follows: Flute: Raelynn Bohrmueller, Courtney Bennett, Shannon Alba, Jenny Draxler; Clarinet: Sarah Wanek, Karli Peterson, Sarah Wisneski; Alto Saxophone: Meghan Riley, Kyle Hendrickson, Kyle Kobish; Tenor Saxophone: Nathan Vergin, Mathew Hayes; Baritone Saxophone: Chris Haataja; Horn: Emily Bjerstedt, Katie Fitchenbauer, Jillian Patrick; Trumpet: Tanner Vodvarka, Lane Ludtke, Tyler Sherfinski; Trombone: Nic Fischer, David Feld; Bass Trombone: Patrick Romanek; Euphonium: Aaron Mueller; Tuba: Joseph Russett; Percussion: Molly Trochta, Michaela Hogan; Piano: Michaela Hogan

UW-Green Bay Jazz II Ensemble personnel are as follows: Saxophone: Katelyn Staaben, alto; Kyle Henrickson, alto; Joshua Shope, tenor; Tyler Rindo, tenor; Chris Haataja, baritone; Trumpet: Gatlin Grimm, Kayla Johnson, Greg Koeller; Trombone: Mike Fowler, Joseph Russett, Cole Watkins; Rhythm section: Collin Marshall, guitar; Ryan Braatz, piano; Tony Pesavento, bass; Lindsay DeCleene, percussion; Michaela Hogan, percussion

# 12-52

You may also like...