UW-Green Bay Jazz I and II, Vocal Jazz ensembles to perform May 8

A trio of UW-Green Bay jazz ensembles will take the stage Wednesday, May 8, performing in the 33rd concert of the 2012-13 season.

The program will feature UW-Green Bay Music’s Jazz I Ensemble, under the direction of Associate Prof. John Salerno; the Jazz II Ensemble, under the direction of Associate Prof. Adam Gaines; and the Vocal Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Associate Lecturer Chris Salerno. The concert begins at 7:30 p.m. at the University Theatre in Theatre Hall on campus, 2420 Nicolet Drive.

The Jazz II Ensemble will be the first to take the stage, playing selections from Lennie Niehaus, Cole Porter (arranged by Frank Mantooth), John LaBarbera and Harold Arlen (arranged by Adrien Re). Then it will be the singers’ turn, with the Vocal Jazz Ensemble performing arrangements from Jennifer Barnes, Anders Edenroth and more. The vocal jazz portion of the program will conclude with a performance of Phil Collins’ “Trashin’ the Camp,” from the 1999 movie “Tarzan.”

The Jazz I Ensemble will close out the May 8 program with arrangements from Frank Mantooth and Al Cobine —along with UW-Green Bay student Sam Stranz’ arrangement of “Darn that Dream,” from the Broadway musical “Swingin’ the Dream.” Works from Chuck Mangione and Jerome Richardson will close the show.

Tickets for the May 8 concert are $7 for adults and $5 for students and seniors. Order online at www.uwgb.edu/tickets or by calling (920) 465-2400 or (800) 328-tkts. UW-Green Bay is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music. More information is available at www.uwgb.edu/music.

Concert personnel are as follows:

Jazz II Ensemble: Saxophone: Katelyn Staaben, alto 1; Kyle Hall, alto 1; 
Kyle Henrickson, alto 2; Josh Shope, tenor 1; Kadin Dever, tenor 2; Chris Eichhorst, baritone; Trumpet: David Blihar, Chase Collins, Greg Koeller, Tanner Vodvarka; Trombone: Bill Burroughs, Corey Livieri, Patrick Romanek, Joe Russett; Rhythm Section: Sam Stranz, piano; Seth Parmer, bass; Bobby Magers, drums.

Vocal Jazz Ensemble: Soprano: Cassie Alfheim, Irene Hoang, Michaela Hogan, Farin Ludtke, Dana Mehlhorn; Alto: Katie Junak, 
Leah Lamalfa, 
Lydia Schneider, Ceilidh Westenberger; Tenor: Lane Ludtke, Julio Reyes; Bass: Sebastian Garcia, James Letellier, Tony Pesavento, Nick Schommer; Rhythm Section: Chris Salerno, piano; Seth Parmer, bass guitar; Terry Iattoni, drums; Julio Reyes, alto saxophone.

Jazz I Ensemble: Saxophone: Sam Stranz
, Cole Watkins, 
Julio Reyes, 
Ceilidh Westenberger, Emily Schanowski; Trumpet: Greg Koeller, Kayla Johnson, Chase Collins, Tanner Vodvarka, Gatlin Grimm; Trombone: Bill Burroughs, Alex Reed, Patrick Romanek, Joe Russett; Rhythm Section: Kyle Sweeney, piano; Tony Pesavento, bass; Terry Iattoni, drums.


You may also like...