UW-Green Bay Music presents ‘A Winter Evening in Vienna’ with the UWGB Bands

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay’s Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble will perform a semester-end concert at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 10 in the Cofrin Family (main) Hall of the Weidner Center for the Performing Arts on campus, 2420 Nicolet Drive.

The concert will begin with the combined Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band, conducted by Associate Prof. Kevin Collins, performing an homage to the Vienna Philharmonic’s popular New Year’s Eve Concert that begins with Johann Strauss Jr.’s “Tritsch Tratsch Polka” as well as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Menuetto” from his Symphony No. 35. The groups will play Johann Strauss Jr.’s “Emperor Waltz” and Johann Strauss Sr.’s “Radetzky March” before adjourning for a brief intermission.

The Wind Ensemble will take the stage after intermission, continuing Viennese winter traditions with the performance of Johann Strauss’ “Mein Herr Marquis” (“Laughing Song” from Die Fleidermaus), the latter featuring Assistant Prof. Courtney Sherman, soprano. The group will conclude the concert with Peter Tschaikowsky’s “Nutcracker Suite,” performing several numbers including Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy and Waltz of the Flowers, with Sherman providing a cheeky narration.

Tickets for the Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band concert are $7 for adults and $5 for students and seniors. Call (920) 465-2400 or visit www.uwgb.edu/tickets. UW-Green Bay is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music. For more information, visit www.uwgb.edu/music.

Symphonic Band personnel are as follows: Flute: Beth Waldek, Allie Andres, Morgan Moe, Jennifer Lund, Emma Fay; Clarinet: Kennedy Kleingartner, Amelia Ford, Brianna Bodoh, Haley Jensson, Barbara Boyer, Mikayla Becherer, Jennifer Bahling; Bass Clarinet: Veronica Kasperek; Alto Saxophone: Alyssa Edges, Kevin Cervantes, Alycia Winters, Sheng Lor; Tenor Saxophone: Erica Hilbert, Amanda Dunn; Baritone Saxophone: Kyle Schneider; Horn: Michaela Moore, Kathi Arnold, Katrina Weber, Alysha Brooks, Andrew Sturm; Trumpet: Austin Ernst, Sam Osterberg, Evan Patton, Talor Sohr; Trombone: Matthew Albert, Nathan Marhefke, Joe Russett; Euphonium: Haley Jensson; Tuba: James Jones; Percussion: Isaiah Hernandez, Bruce Mckinney; Violoncello: Larissa Mickelson; String Bass: Jon Tabers-Kwak.

Wind Ensemble personnel are as follows: Flute: Payton Kronforst, Kailey Mucha (picc.), Laura Cortright, Alysha Brooks, Ashley Gutting; Clarinet: Lauren Paul, Rebekah Erdman, Heather Roberts, Kait Francois; Alto Saxophone: McKenna VanDerLeest, Kyle Hall, Kelton Jennings; Tenor Saxophone: Matt Hayes; Baritone Saxophone: Kyle Henrickson; Horn: Brandt Bailey, Molly Dederich, Shannon Swodzinski, Michaela Moore; Trumpet: Ryan Loining, James Block, Sam Osterberg, Mitchell Kanlasty; Trombone: Matthew Albert, Jacob Harper, Mallory Krueger; Bass Trombone: Alec Hasse; Euphonium: Cole Watkins, Paul Dugan; Tuba: Joe Russett, Tom Sielaff; Percussion: Lisa Ford, Jamie Rodgers, Jack VanBeek, Bobby Jo Majers, Kyle Sweeney, Michaela Hogan; String Bass: Jon Tabers-Kwak; Piano/Keyboard: Nicholas Saldaña.


You may also like...