Northeast Wisconsin students heading to National History Day Contest

GREEN BAY — Three projects by northeast Wisconsin middle- and high school students were chosen for the National History Day Contest in Washington D.C. June 14-18.

The winners were selected at the state competition in Madison in early May. There were 32 projects from throughout Wisconsin selected for the national competition.

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay hosted a regional competition in early April, when a record 345 students vied for the honor of moving on to the state competition. The first Northeastern Wisconsin competition was organized at UW-Green Bay in 2003 and the regional contest quickly grew to become the largest in the state.

All of the entries were required to address some aspect of the 2009 national theme, “The Individual in History: Actions and Legacies.”

Three projects by northeast Wisconsin students also received special awards as did a high school teacher from Random Lake.

National competition contestants include:

Junior Group Performance—Alicia McQuade, Whitney Emerich and Corey Reidl, Kaleidoscope Academy, Appleton, “Million Dollar ‘Leg’-acy.”

Senior Individual Documentary—Megan Hermann, Southwest High School, Green Bay, “My Brother and I.”

Senior Website—Courtney Banker and Beth VanBeek, Seymour Community High School, Seymour, ”Jane Addams.”

State competition honorable mentions:

Junior Individual Performance—Kelsey Wright, Kohler Middle School, Kohler, “Rosie the Riveter: Doctor, Lawyer, Farmer: Oh, My!” second honorable mention.

Junior Group Performance—Helen Kaufman and Hanna Kitslaar, Bay View Middle School, Howard, “Margaret Newell H’Doubler: Legendary Dance Teacher and Performer,” first honorable mention.

Junior Individual Documentary—Courtney Bougie, Freedom Middle School, Freedom, “Sacagawea: The Lewis and Clark Expedition,” fourth honorable mention.

Junior Group Documentary—Brenna Mulholland and Emily Toporski, J.R. Gerritts Middle School, Kimberly, “Mother of the Ho-Chunk: The Legacy of Juliette A.M. Kinzie,” third honorable mention.

Senior Group Performance—Karley Clayton and Thomas Gonzalez, Lincoln High School, Manitowoc, “Walt Disney,” third honorable mention.

Senior Individual Documentary—Dayle Kornely, Lincoln High School, Manitowoc, “The Jacqueline Kennedy White House Restoration,” third honorable mention.

Special awards:

Wisconsin Society of Mayflower Descendants Award for Early American History—Rachel Veldt, Seymour Community High School, Seymour, “Thomas Jefferson: The World Through the Eyes of a Gardener.”

John C. Geilfuss Award for Wisconsin History—Bailey Mulholland and Gretchen Miron, Kimberly High School, Kimberly, “Emma Toft: A Legacy of Conservation.”

Abraham Lincoln Research Award—Samantha Bush, Random Lake High School, Random Lake, “Abraham Lincoln: The Great American President.”

National History Day in Wisconsin Teacher of Merit—Jim DeBroux, Random Lake High School.

For the full list of Wisconsin winners, click here.

(Editor’s Note: The first and second honorable mention alternates in each category are offered the opportunity to attend the national contest in the event that the finalist entry is unable to attend. The special award winners are not eligible for the national competition.)