Mid-Year Convocation: ‘Emeriti,’ veteran colleagues draw ovations

UW-Green Bay faculty and staff members gathered Jan. 19 at the University Union’s Phoenix Room for the annual Mid-Year Convocation in advance of the second semester. The formal program included granting of emeriti status to distinguished retirees, and years-of-service recognition for longtime employees.

awards-emeritus status
Two individuals were present to receive emeritus plaques. Ron Ronnenberg, left, the longtime director of Financial Aid and Student Employment, was honored for “a career in service to students, their families and the ideal of affordable higher education for all. He joined the UW-Green Bay staff in 1977. Prof. William Shay, right, has been a member of the Computer Science faculty since 1979. He was honored for “a career of program development and an unfailing integrity in dealing with students and colleagues.”

awards-25 to 35 years employment anniversaries
Posing for a group photo after the formal program were these employees celebrating 25, 30 and 35 year anniversaries with UW-Green Bay and/or the UW System. From left are Prof. Bill Niedzwiedz, 30 years; Poppy Grant, 35; Prof. Lloyd Noppe, 30; Anne Kasuboski, 30; and, each celebrating 25 years, Christopher Sampson, Diane Blohowiak and Pam Bramschreiber.

awards-20 years employment anniversaries
UW-Green Bay faculty and staff members marking 20-year anniversaries at the Jan. 19 gathering were, from left, Mike Schmitt, Sue Bodilly, Lisa DeLeeuw, Jeanellyn Schwarzenbach, Carol Van Egeren, Prof. Tian-You Hu, Sheila Carter and Jim Merner.

awards-10 years employment anniversaries
Gathering for a group shot of those honored with 10-year certificates were, front row from left, Dawn Abernathy, Karla Miller, Jackie Hallada, Prof. Dean VonDras and Prof. Andrew Austin; second row, Joan Dovekas (actually, a 16-year veteran but inadvertently omitted from earlier recognition), Samantha Surowiec, and Lynn Rotter; third row, Jeff Selner and Carmen Leuthner; top row, Barb Holschbach, Monica Pynaker, Stephen Perkins, Lisa Atwater and Prof. Michael Zorn.

You may also like...