UW-Green Bay Jazz I and Jazz II ensembles to perform Nov. 2

UW-Green Bay Music will present a concert featuring its Jazz I and Jazz II ensembles at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 2 at the University Theatre in Theatre Hall on campus, 2420 Nicolet Drive.

The concert, UW-Green Bay Music’s fourth of the 2012-13 season, will kick off with the Jazz II Ensemble under the direction of Associate Prof. Adam Gaines. The group will start with “Isfahan” by Duke Ellington and Bill Strayhorn (arranged by Frank Mantooth) and “ ‘Round Midnight” by Cootie Williams and Thelonious Monk (arranged by Ian McDougall). The ensemble also will play Antonio Carlos Jobim’s “One Note Samba” (arranged by Jerry Nowak) and Hoagy Carmichael’s “Georgia on My Mind” (arranged by Michael Sweeney), before concluding with “Julian” by Phil Woods.

The Jazz I Ensemble, under the direction of Associate Prof. John Salerno, will begin its performance with “Lean Years” by Pat Martino and “Widow’s Walk” by Rick Margitza, before proceeding to “Smoke Gets in Your Eyes” and “Cubano Chant,” both arranged by Bob Washut. The ensemble will conclude with Charlie Parker’s “Donna Lee,” arranged by John Salerno.

Tickets for the Jazz I and Jazz II ensembles concert are $7 for adults and $5 for students and seniors. Call (920) 465-2400 or visit www.uwgb.edu/tickets. Visit www.uwgb.edu/music for more information. UW-Green Bay is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music.

UW-Green Bay Jazz I Ensemble personnel are as follows: Saxophone: Sam Stranz, alto 1; Cole Watkins, alto 2; Julio Reyes, tenor 1; Ceilidh Westenberger, tenor 2; Emily Schanowski, baritone; Trumpet: Kayla Johnson, lead; Greg Koeller, lead; Chase Collins, Tanner Vodvarka; Trombone: Bill Hill, lead; Joe Russett, Alex Reed, Patrick Romanek, bass; Rhythm Section: Kyle Sweeney, piano; Tony Pesavento, bass; Frankie Salerno, guitar; Kevin Bernard, drums.

UW-Green Bay Jazz II Ensemble personnel are as follows: Saxophone: Katelyn Staaben, alto 1; Kyle Hall, alto 2; Josh Shope, tenor 1; Kadin Dever, tenor 2; Chris Eichhorst, baritone; Trumpet: David Blihar, lead; Tyler Sherfinski, Kayla Johnson, Greg Koeller; Trombone/Tuba: Patrick Romanek, lead; Paige Konitzer, Corey Livieri, Joe Russett, tuba; Rhythm Section: Sam Stranz, piano; Seth Parmer, bass; Michaela Hogan, drums.


You may also like...