UW-Green Bay Alumni Association Awards, April 17

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay invites University graduates and friends to the presentation of the 2010 Alumni Association Awards, Saturday, April 17, in the grand foyer of the Weidner Center for the Performing Arts.

The annual alumni awards ceremony recognizes alumni and friends who have made special contributions to the University.

This year the Chancellor’s Honorary Alumni Awards will be presented to Michael D. Meeuwsen, Thomas L. Olson and Virginia A. Riopelle. All three individuals have been instrumental in the development of UW-Green Bay including the successful, $30 million “Your Community, Your University, Your Future” capital campaign.

Michael D. Meeuwsen provided community and campus leadership for the Kress Events Center fundraising initiative, which was part of the capital campaign.

Thomas L. Olson serves on the Chancellor’s Council of Trustees and was co-chair for the capital campaign.

Virginia A. Riopelle is a founding leader of the Phuture Phoenix program. She is vice chair of the Chancellor’s Council of Trustees was co-chair of the capital campaign.

There will also be presentation of Distinguished Alumni Awards to individuals selected by a committee for having distinguished themselves in professional work, career accomplishments and community involvement. This year’s Distinguished Alumni Award recipients are:

Patricia A. Finder-Stone ’73, honored for her distinguished career in nursing and in health advocacy, she remains active in community and statewide organizations.

Betty J. (McNulty) Amuzu, M.D. ’83, an associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology with the UW Medical School, Milwaukee offices, and donor to UW-Green Bay.

Timothy F. Nixon ’87, an attorney and shareholder in Godfrey & Kahn law office in Green Bay. He is also a team leader of Godfrey & Kahn’s business finance and restructuring practice group.

There will also be a presentation of the Outstanding Recent Alumni Awards recognizing alumni within 15 years of graduation who are making important contributions to their community and professions. Outstanding Recent Alumni Awards will go to:

Jason F. Hellwig ’96, an attorney with Winston & Strawn Law Office in New York.

Samuel T. Huber ’03, a teacher in the Milwaukee area school district, founder of Eco-Runner, and an accomplished distance runner and dedicated environmentalist.

The award ceremony will begin with a 5 p.m. social. Dinner is at 6 p.m. The cost is $25 per person. To make reservations or get more information, contact the UW-Green Bay Alumni Office at (920) 465-2586; alumni@uwgb.edu.


R. Terry Anderson

I teach English Composition and handle media and marketing for the Institute for Learning Partnership.

You may also like...