Jazz Ensemble, Special Guest Anibal Rojas to Hold Public Concert March 24

GREEN BAY – University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Music program will spotlight student Jazz Ensemble I and special guest saxophone soloist Anibal Rojas in a public concert at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, March 24, in the University Theatre in Theatre Hall.

Thursday’s concert begins with music by UW-Green Bay’s top student group, Jazz Ensemble I under the direction of Associate Prof. Adam Gaines. The ensemble will kick off the show with “Slam” by Marcus Miller. The group will then play “Footprints” (Wayne Shorter), “Moment’s Notice” (John Coltrane), “Housewife From New Jersey” (Tim Hagans), “Doodle Oodle” (Billy Byers), “Weird Blues” (Bob Mintzer) “Cabauza” (Michael Mossman) and conclude with “Big Dipper” (Thad Jones). Joining the Jazz Ensemble in the third tune will be special guest Anibal Rojas.

Anibal Rojas is a saxophonist with indigenous roots in the modern world. He is the music of the immigrant, the sound of assimilation and integration, the blending of cultures, classes and the musical traditions. Rojas was born in Chile and immigrated to the United States in his early teens. He has performed and/or recorded with Latin jazz great Ray Mantilla, Tom Bowes of Tower of Power fame, Cuba Gooding and the Main Ingredient, Marlon Simon and the Nagual Spirits among others. Rojas has played major venues nationwide, including Carnegie Hall, The Apollo Theater, Universal Studios Amphitheatre and The Greek Theater. His debut CD, “Ahkneeball,” is the musical interpretation of his life’s journey (so far) from Chile to the United States.

Tickets for the concert are $10 for adults and $5 for students and seniors (please call 920-465-2400 or visit www.uwgb.edu/tickets). The venue box office will also be open 90 minutes prior to the performance. Visit www.uwgb.edu/music for more information. UW-Green Bay is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music.

UW-Green Bay Jazz I Ensemble personnel are as follows: Saxophone: Courtney Hamilton, Hannah Jandrin, Kelton Jennings, Alex Munson, McKenna Vanderleest; Trumpet: James Block, Greg Koeller, Ryan Loining, Ellen Reber; Trombone: Cameron Collins, Alex Haase, Joe Russet, Jake Van Dyke; Guitar: Matt Hillman; Bass: Gillian Evenhoff; Piano: Rissel Peguero, Kyle Sweeney; Drums: Isaiah Hernandez, Bobby Magers.


You may also like...