UW-Green Bay announces NAS Scholarship recipients

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay has announced the Natural and Applied Sciences Scholarship recipients for the 2010-11 school year. The winners were recognized at a reception on Friday, Jan. 28 at the University Union.

Many of this year’s recipients have worked in diverse areas related to their field of study and plan to attend graduate or professional school upon graduation from UW-Green Bay.

All scholarship recipients came from the science, engineering and education fields of study at UW-Green Bay.

Recipients are as follows:

• The James E. Casperson/Environmental Science Alumni Scholarship ($1,600) was awarded to David Lawrence, a senior from Brussels, Wis. Lawrence’s area of interest lies in the management of Wisconsin’s trout streams. He would like to apply to graduate school and become a fisheries biologist.

• The Nancy J. Sell Memorial Scholarships ($1,000) were awarded to Oksana Fursov, a senior from Green Bay, and Ethan Linstad, a junior from Marinette, Wis. Fursov serves as president of the pre-dental club at UW-Green Bay and would like to attend dental school after graduation. Linstad is a transfer student from UW-Marinette where he received an award for excellence in biology and plans to go to graduate school and earn his Ph.D. in chemistry.

• The Brad Cook Memorial Scholarship ($500) was awarded to Morgan Gantz, a senior from Green Bay. Gantz interned with “Rock the Earth,” a non-profit organization that is dedicated to protecting and defending America’s natural resources. She is applying to graduate school at Colorado State University.

• The NEW Engineering Scholarship-First Year ($1,000) was awarded to Leah Barsch, a junior from Green Bay, and Brandon Blochowiak, a freshman from Green Bay. Barsch interned with the Medical College of Wisconsin and plans to become a civil or electrical engineer. Blochowiak is working toward his bachelor’s degree in manufacturing engineering and hopes to someday work in the engineering department at Georgia Pacific.

• The NEW Engineering Scholarship-Second Year ($1,300) was awarded to Andrew Kaminski, a sophomore from Milwaukee, and Eric Sevcik, a sophomore from Green Bay. Kaminski plans to enter the civil engineering program at UW-Milwaukee upon graduation from UW-Green Bay. Sevcik plans on becoming a mechanical engineer.

• The Moose Lodge Rod and Gun Club Scholarships ($500) were awarded to Ashley Bolwerk, a senior from Hilbert, Wis., and Jessica Kuehn, a senior from Green Bay. Bolwerk is student teaching this semester in Sitka, AK and plans to teach high school biology. Kuehn is an AmeriCorps member and has received the gold level of the President’s Volunteer Service Award for completing 500 hours of volunteer service in a one-year period.

• The Carol R. DeGroot Scholarship in Environmental Science ($500) was awarded to Rachel Van Dam, a sophomore from New Richmond, Wis. Van Dam interned at the Como Zoo in St. Paul, Minn. and is looking to attend graduate school, possibly at UW-Green Bay.


You may also like...