UW-Green Bay students receive Phi Eta Sigma scholarships

The Phi Eta Sigma Scholarship Committee has thoughtfully reviewed another large number of applications for the Society’s scholarship program. A few short years ago (1970), nine $300 awards were granted annually. This year, the Society received more than 1,200 applications and will grant nearly $300,000 in endowed scholarships or awards to 96 outstanding members of Phi Eta Sigma for undergraduate or graduate study.

The Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce that students from UW-Green Bay will receive the specified scholarship or award to be used for full-time study during the 2020-21 school year. (Fun fact: UW-Green Bay tied for the second most students being awarded PES scholarships this year! Our students are receiving a total of $19,000 in scholarship money from the PES National Founders Fund!)

Recipients of graduate awards are Emily Drown and Rachel Gordon. Undergraduate awards were receive by Kody Klumb, Kyle Klumb and Meghan Paluch. Kody & Kyle Klumb are first-time recipients of The James E. Foy-John W. Sagabiel Undergraduate Leader Award. It was difficult to determine which one should receive the scholarship, so the scholarship selection committee elected to split it and award each of them.

In June 2019, the executive board members voted to establish a new $10,000 scholarship at the undergraduate level called “The James E. Foy-John W. Sagabiel Undergraduate Leader Award.” This new award was created to honor the legacy of two of Phi Eta Sigma’s most dedicated and revered leaders, Dean James Foy and Dr. Jack Sagabiel. Both men served the society in a variety of roles during their tenures that spanned four decades. Under their leadership, Phi Eta Sigma impacted the lives of countless students and experienced unprecedented growth. In addition, they were each instrumental in establishing the previous headquarters of the organization at Auburn University (Foy) and Western Kentucky University (Sagabiel). This scholarship award will be given to an undergraduate student member for the first time in 2020, and in addition to the Thomas Arkle Clark Graduate Leader Award will be the highest scholarships awarded by the Society annually.

You may also like...