Alumna Logan Johnsen receives the Paul and Thea Sager Award for Excellence

CSET - College of Science, Engineering & Technology

The Paul and Thea Sager Award for Excellence in Scientific Scholarship recognizes a UW-Green Bay science or engineering undergraduate who demonstrates excellence in communicating scientific information from a classroom or extracurricular academic project. The Sager Award was created in 2009 in memory of Chancellor Emeritus Edward Weidner and his commitment to UW-Green Bay and the Cofrin Memorial Arboretum at the Green Bay campus. The recipient receives a $1,100 award.

This year’s winner of the Sager Award is Logan Johnsen for her paper entitled “To Be or Not to Be Paid? The Motivational Effects of Scholarship Removal on Division I NCAA Swimmers.” Johnsen, a Human Biology major with an emphasis in Exercise Science, is now enrolled as a Ph.D. student in the Physical Therapy program at the University of Kansas. Her composition, with co-authors Rosalyn Stoa and Dr. Jana Fogaca, has been accepted for publication in the International Journal of Sports Psychology.

Three other students have been recognized with honorable mentions for their outstanding submissions to this annual competition: Katharine Keller (Human Biology and Psychology), Tori Krcmarik (Human Biology), and Mary Stewart (Natural and Applied Sciences). Faculty and staff of the Cofrin Center for Biodiversity, who administer the Sager Award competition, congratulate all four students and their mentors for their excellent scientific work.

You may also like...