UW-Green Bay students win top broadcast honors

University of Wisconsin-Green Bay student broadcasters received eight awards for excellence in statewide competition sponsored by the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association.

The students were recognized for their work on productions broadcast over Channel 20 (Phlash TV), a cable television channel available to nearly 2,000 students living in UW-Green Bay residence halls, and over WGBX, the internet-based student radio station. UW-Green Bay took home awards in sports radio, TV news, promotional spots and website design.

UW-Green Bay tied with UW-Milwaukee, which also received eight awards, for most honors in the state. The WBA Student Seminar at which the awards were announced was held earlier this month in Madison and was attended by 185 students from public and private universities and colleges across the state. The event allows students to meet with working broadcasters, attend workshops and gain familiarity with issues and trends in the industry.

UW-Green Bay recipients of WBA Award for Excellence honors were:

  • First place, Best Radio Sports Story, Scott Kirst and Ryan Fantozzi of WGBX’s “The Double Team Show” for an interview with Phoenix basketball standout Kayla Tetschlag;
  • First place, Best Website, (radio or TV), WGBX, Ben Kvalo, Brian Pensinger, Justin Seidl;
  • Second place, Best Radio Sports Story, Ben Kvalo and Chris Hady of WGBX’s “BC Sports Connection” show;
  • Second place, Best TV Newscast, Ben Krumholz and Elizabeth Dupont for Channel 20’s “On the Ball.”
  • Second place, Best TV Promo/PSA/Commercial, Karen Meyer and Dan Beckwith for Channel 20’s “Jaded Nights” promo;
  • Third place, Best TV Promo/PSA/Commercial, Jeff Bujanowski, Mike Schilleman, Ben Kotenberg and Jessica Mannigel for “Paper Boy” promo;
  • Third place, Best TV News Story, Adam Binder and Michelle Young for Channel 20’s coverage of presidential candidate Barack Obama’s visit to campus, for the show “Phoenix Connexion”;
  • Third place, Best Website, (radio or TV), Channel 20 (Phlash TV), Michelle Young.