Cahill takes Sager award for undergraduate scientific writing

The Cofrin Center for Biodiversity has announced the winner of this year’s Sager Scholarship for Undergraduate Scientific Writing. Jesse Cahill, a senior with a double major in Human Biology and Chemistry, wrote A Review of Phage Therapy, concerning the use of bacteriophages (viruses that attack bacteria) for treatment of human bacterial infections. The essay was written as an independent study project under the supervision of Prof. Brian Merkel, Human Biology. Cahill will be recognized at this year’s Cofrin Center for Biodiversity Student Research Symposium, scheduled for Tuesday, March 5, and he will receive a $1,000 award.

***     ***     ***     ***

Record number of submissions:  The Sager Scholarship was created by emeriti faculty Paul Sager and Dorothea Sager in memory of Chancellor Emeritus Edward Weidner and his commitment to UW-Green Bay and the Cofrin Arboretum. This year’s competition set a record for the largest number of submissions. Honorable mentions for 2013 go to Andrew Docter, Chelsea Gunther, Jennifer Hegnet, Ashley Johnson, Mirra Laes, Brooke Porter, Sara Smith, Rachel VanDam, and Jess Weinzinger. The Selection Committee consisted of two professors from Natural and Applied Sciences (Ryan Courier and Alma Rodriguez-Estrada) and two from Human Biology (James Marker and Le Zhu).

You may also like...