Phoenix women place three on Horizon second team

Despite winning its 17th-straight Horizon League regular-season title three games ahead of its closest pursuer, UW-Green Bay women’s basketball (29th in the nation, 25-4, 15-1) was somehow left without a player on the first team for the second consecutive year. Actually, Phoenix standouts Megan Lukan, Mehryn Kraker and Tesha Buck likely split their first-team votes (just as they did individual stats all year), and each was recognized on the second team. Lukan made the all-defensive team. Voted first team were Ruvanna Campbell, UIC; Heidi Schlegel, Youngstown State; Ashley Green, Milwaukee; Cori Coleman, Cleveland State; and Tay’ler Mingo, Wright State, the very deserving Horizon League player of the year.