UW-Green Bay purchasing director discusses sanitation costs prior to students returning to campus | WLUK

Gallons of hand sanitizer, disinfectant, and personal protective equipment. Tory Ortscheid has to buy it all before students come back to the University of Wisconsin Green Bay.

“It would be upwards of tens of thousands of dollars,” he said. He’s the purchasing director for UWGB. “We are purchasing large quantities of PPE supply to support the return of the students and the faculty and staff.

Thousands of college students will return to campus next month, and part of making sure the campus is safe is having plenty of hand sanitizing stations.

Source: Local start-up hopes to help schools, businesses cut PPE, sanitation costs | WLUK

Disruptive innovation conference offered by UW-Green Bay CECE | EH Extra

The UW-Green Bay Office of Continuing Professional Education and Community Engagement has put together a line up of three experts around disruptive innovation and will host a virtual daylong conference on Aug. 25.

Disruptive innovation can create new markets and value networks, products, government priorities and alliances, and has the potential to change the fabric of the economy and society.

Source: Disruptive innovation conference offered | EH Extra

President of UW-Green Bay Student Government Association discusses efforts to expand safe and accessible voting | WisPolitics

Last night, the Green Bay Common Council secured more than $1 million in funding to help realize its goal of carrying out safe, accessible, and fair elections this year and in the future.

The funding will serve the city beyond this year’s election. It will set a strong precedent for how future elections are conducted in Green Bay, and show the rest of Wisconsin that Green Bay is a leader in the fight for a fair, safe, and equitable democracy.

I have seen a lot of concern over safe voting procedures from students, as well as many requests from students and community members to expand our current voting climate to include everyone,” said Guillermo Gomez, president of the Student Government Association at UW-Green Bay. “Now, I have full faith that Green Bay will become a leader in accessible voting and voter safety moving forward.”

Source: Conservation Voters: Applaud Green Bay’s efforts to expand safe and accessible voting | WisPolitics

UW-Green Bay’s CATL welcomes new, but familiar, faces

The CATL herd is growing! The Center is welcoming some familiar faces as new team members. Many of you already know Scott Berg from his role as electronics technician for IT, Client Services; Berg will be joining CATL as its new LMS (Canvas) Administrator. Nichole LaGrow, UWGB’s distance education coordinator, has joined the CATL team. Nathan Kraftcheck, already a member of the CATL team, will be transitioning to the role of an instructional designer.

UW-Green Bay students receive Phi Eta Sigma scholarships

The Phi Eta Sigma Scholarship Committee has thoughtfully reviewed another large number of applications for the Society’s scholarship program. A few short years ago (1970), nine $300 awards were granted annually. This year, the Society received more than 1,200 applications and will grant nearly $300,000 in endowed scholarships or awards to 96 outstanding members of Phi Eta Sigma for undergraduate or graduate study.

The Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce that students from UW-Green Bay will receive the specified scholarship or award to be used for full-time study during the 2020-21 school year. (Fun fact: UW-Green Bay tied for the second most students being awarded PES scholarships this year! Our students are receiving a total of $19,000 in scholarship money from the PES National Founders Fund!)

Recipients of graduate awards are Emily Drown and Rachel Gordon. Undergraduate awards were receive by Kody Klumb, Kyle Klumb and Meghan Paluch. Kody & Kyle Klumb are first-time recipients of The James E. Foy-John W. Sagabiel Undergraduate Leader Award. It was difficult to determine which one should receive the scholarship, so the scholarship selection committee elected to split it and award each of them.

In June 2019, the executive board members voted to establish a new $10,000 scholarship at the undergraduate level called “The James E. Foy-John W. Sagabiel Undergraduate Leader Award.” This new award was created to honor the legacy of two of Phi Eta Sigma’s most dedicated and revered leaders, Dean James Foy and Dr. Jack Sagabiel. Both men served the society in a variety of roles during their tenures that spanned four decades. Under their leadership, Phi Eta Sigma impacted the lives of countless students and experienced unprecedented growth. In addition, they were each instrumental in establishing the previous headquarters of the organization at Auburn University (Foy) and Western Kentucky University (Sagabiel). This scholarship award will be given to an undergraduate student member for the first time in 2020, and in addition to the Thomas Arkle Clark Graduate Leader Award will be the highest scholarships awarded by the Society annually.