UW-Green Bay students will report on natural areas research

GREEN BAY—Four University of Wisconsin-Green Bay students will report on research conducted in UW-Green Bay natural areas at a symposium from 1:30 p.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 25, in the 1965 Room of the University Union, 2420 Nicolet Drive. The event is free and open to the public.

The student presenters are Linda Filo, Sussex; Matthew Flentje, Manitowoc; Ethan Kaiser, Boyceville and Meagan Davis, Green Bay. (See presenter topics below.)

The program also will include recognition of two student recipients of the first-ever Paul and Thea Sager Scholarship for excellence in undergraduate research.

Brittany Brodziski, a senior chemistry major from Spencer, will be recognized for her paper “An analysis of the presence of diethyl and dibutyl phthalate in scented oil air fresheners,” supervised by Prof. John Lyon; and Adam Snippen, a senior Environmental Science major from Schofield, will be recognized for his paper “Characteristics and microbial respiration analysis of a southern boreal forest in Door County, Wisconsin,” supervised by Prof. Amy Wolf.

Students carried out their field research projects in UW-Green Bay’s Cofrin Memorial Arboretum and other University-managed natural areas in Northeastern Wisconsin. Projects were funded by a student research grant program established by an endowment from the families of Dr. David Cofrin and the late John Cofrin.

Grants of up to $1,000 are awarded competitively based on student proposals.

Students’ projects, carried out in collaboration with faculty members, must contribute to improving understanding of the ecology of the selected natural area. The projects also give students experience in properly designing and carrying out research. Since 1987, more than 100 students have participated in this grant-supported research program.

Prof. Robert Howe, director of the Cofrin Center for Biodiversity at UW-Green Bay, will introduce and moderate the symposium.

The schedule, presenters, topics and faculty advisers include:
1:30 p.m. — Introductory comments by Prof. Robert Howe, Director of the Cofrin Center for Biodiversity
1:40 p.m. — Linda Filo, “Mapping and assessing campus populations of Phragmites australis.” (Prof. Amy Wolf and Prof. Robert Howe)
2:05 p.m. — Presentation of Sager Scholarships to Brittany Brodziski and Adam Snippen
2:25 p.m. — Matthew Flentje, “An owl survey of UWGB natural areas.” (Prof. Howe)
2:50 p.m. — Ethan Kaiser, “Earthworm abundance in annually burned vs. unburned grasslands in the UW-Green Bay Cofrin Arboretum.” (Prof. Wolf)
3:15 p.m. — Meagan Davis, “Research on Cliff Swallows in the Cofrin Arboretum.” (Prof. Howe)
3:40 p. m. — Concluding remarks by Prof. Howe